What the Hell is Aromat Seasoning?

As far back as I can remember every time I’ve made myself an egg be it fried, scrambled or boiled I have always finished it off with the indifferent yet very tasty seasoning, AROMAT. I not only used it on my eggs but my potatoes (baked, roasted and fried), chicken, corn, coleslaw and green salad all enjoyed a generous sprinkling of the “secret ingredient”. Heck, I’ve even used it to cook.

And its not just me but people use it for almost every meal they prepare! As a child my girlfriend would touch anything – with the exception of cereal and beverages – if it didn’t look yellow enough. She especially enjoyed it with vienna and rice combo. And my mother even adds a dash to her KFC! And we all know how delicious and flavourful the ‘Kernel’ is…. Its makes its regular appearance at tables country wide, at every meal. That’s how tasty it is. Some might even say its addictive.

Its hadn’t even crossed my mind – you know the age old question of WHAT IS AROMAT? – until one day when the girlfriend casually posed the question to me, rhetorical of course but… I had to stop mid-sprinkle because I genuinely did not know the answer she saw the gap and emphatically responded,”exactly! And that’s why I have stopped ‘using’ it. I do not know what it is and I grew up on the stuff!” It got me thinking and I figured I should investigate – WHAT THE HELL IS AROMAT SEASONING? – and share it with my readers.

Below is what I now know about the ingredients used to make Aromat in a feeble attempt to explain in it in laymen terms. Mind you I am still not sure…

Ingredients
Salt, maize flour, monosodium glutamate, yeast extract, flavourants, partially hydrogenated vegetable fat, anticaking agent (E551), flavour enhancer (E631, E627), vegetables, spices, herbs, soya lecithin, garlic.

The most notable ingredient is:

Monosodium Glutamate Monosodium Glutamate Crystals

  • Also known as MSG
  • Is the sodium salt of glutamic acid, one of the most abundant naturally occurring non-essential amino acids
  • Tricks your tongue into making you think a certain food is high in protein and thus nutritious
  • Immediate Side effects may include: headache after eating food, feel like your still hungry an hr later & nausea
  • hmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!
Flavour Enhancer (E631, E627)
  • are food additives commonly added to food and designed to enhance the existing flavours of products (basically more MSG)
Conclusion
We come back to the question of “What the hell is Aromat Seasoning.” Simple, it’s a yellow coloured MSG, with little salt, garlic and flavour enhancer (basically like MSG). And most likely will make you sick after consumption. But my God its good!!


About Raff

I just wanna know what the hell it is!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

